TLP Haiku Chapbook Contest

We will announce a winner this summer; the deadline for entries has passed.

2019 TLP Haiku Chapbook Contest

We are proud to announce the next TLP haiku chapbook contest. Susan Antolin will be the judge of the next TLP haiku chapbook contest. Submissions are invited by May 31, 2019. The winning manuscript will be announced this summer; we aim to publish the winner in late fall/early winter.

The author will be awarded 10 free copies plus a contract for 10 percent royalties on the sale of other copies of the chapbook. In general, we are open to both traditional and modern-style haiku/senryu but have a particular fondness for poems that deal with both people and nature. The haiku chapbook contest is open to published and unpublished writers.

Once a winner is announced, the winner will work with our production team on various aspects of the chapbook design and the use of images to complement the poems. An introduction or preface might be possible depending on the page length of the winning manuscript, layout and paper choice. TLP reserves the right to make all final decisions with regard to titling the manuscript, page length, design and layout, and the use of images.

About the Judge

Susan Antolin fell in love with modern Japanese poetry while living in Japan in the late 1980s. She is currently editor of Acorn: a Journal of Contemporary Haiku, a print journal published semi-annually. Her own collection of haiku and tanka, Artichoke Season, was published in 2009. She has served as past president of the Haiku Poets of Northern California as well as editor of their journal, Mariposa. She also was the editor of Ripples, the newsletter of the Haiku Society of America. Her haiku, senryu and tanka have appeared in journals and anthologies in the U.S. and abroad.

Submission Guidelines

Please submit an original, unpublished collection or sequence of poems on a theme of your choice between 12 – 24 pages, two haiku per page maximum. On a single detachable sheet, a cover page should contain the manuscript title, author’s name, address, phone number, and email. The author’s name should not appear anywhere else. A second title page should be provided without the author’s name or other identification. Please provide a table of contents, if there is one. Manuscripts should be printed and bound with a simple clip. A second, electronic copy should be submitted as an attached file to with “Haiku Chapbook Contest” written in the subject heading. The ms. file should be formatted as an MS Word document.

While individual poems may have won awards, appeared in journals or been printed in anthologies, they should not have run as part of a book length collection that has appeared or is under consideration elsewhere by another publisher. There is no need for citations of where poems have run until publication. Please do not forward art with your manuscript. No more than two manuscripts per contestant are allowed in any one haiku chapbook contest.

Reading Fee: Please send a $30 check payable to Turtle Light Press in U.S. dollars. American and Canadian poets can opt to pay with PayPal, Visa or Master Card on our website – just look for Haiku Contest Entry in our store. Overseas poets can send a bank check, use Western Union, or transfer money through PayPal. If you’re not on e-mail, please include one SASE for notification of the winner and another to confirm receipt of your manuscript; otherwise, we will notify you via email. Manuscripts will not be returned.

Address: Send a hard copy of your submission to the following address: Turtle Light Press, P.O. Box 50162, Arlington, VA 22205. An electronic copy should be submitted as an attached file to with “Haiku Chapbook Competition” written in the subject heading.

Deadline: Manuscripts must be postmarked no later than May 31, 2019. Electronic entries must be received by 11:59 p.m. U.S. Eastern time

To see the comments of our judges on prior winners, please click here. You can still purchase the 2014 and 2012 winners in our store from the links below.

2014 Winner – The Deep End of the Sky

2012 Winner – The Window That Closes

2010 Winner – All That Remains

Our favorite poems from all entries over the years

2019 and 2014 selections coming this summer . . .

Favorite Poems from the 2012 TLP Competition

Favorite Poems from the 2010 TLP Competition

Favorite Poems from the 2008 TLP Competition

Contact Us

Fill out the form below with your questions or comments to TLP and we will be in touch with you shortly!

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)



Your Message